Steven Isserlis (cello) & Connie Shih (piano)

Tuesday, 18 January 2022 - 7:30pm
£25 stalls / £30 gallery / £10 students

UPDATE: We are sorry to announce that Connie Shih will no longer be able to perform alongside Steven in this concert. We are very grateful that pianist Mishka Rushdie Momen has agreed to step-in at short notice! 

Dmitry Kabalevsky: Cello Sonata in B flat, Op. 71
Shostakovich, Dmitri: Sonata in D minor for Cello and Piano, Op. 40


Kurtag, Gyorgy: Socrates' Farewell (preceded by a recitation of Socrates' final words by Professor Armand D'Angour)
Sergei Rachmaninov: Cello Sonata in G minor, Op. 19

There will be a pre-concert talk given by Professor Armand D'Angour of Jesus College on what we know about music in Ancient Greece (and the impact of this thinking on Kurtag's work) at 6.30pm. You can watch it for free here:

Please note that we are currently selling tickets for a reduced capacity audience, tickets are still available but must be booked in advance. We ask that all audience members take a lateral flow test before attending the event. Please do not attend if you are feeling unwell.

Image Steven Isserlis