Jonathan Powell (piano): Sorabji's Opus Clavicembalisticum

Saturday, May 13, 2017
£5 or annual pass

Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji - Opus Clavicembalisticum

Opus Clavicembalisticum is perhaps Sorabji’s best known work, even if more talked about than played until the 1980s. Its twelve movements in three parts occupy at least 4¼ hours in performance. Replete with coruscating counterpoint, vehement virtuosity and irrepressible invention, “OC” throws down some of the most hair-raising challenges in the entire piano repertoire. It is without question a milestone in the history of the piano. There was a pre-concert talk at 2:30pm by the curator of the Sorabji Archive, Alistair Hinton, before the concert began at 3:30pm.

Download Complete Concert Programme Notes (PDF)

Problems viewing on this page? Watch it here.

This livestream is split into three posts:
1. Introduction to "OC" by Alistair Hinton (28′ 34″)
2. Jonathan Powell's performance - Part One (2h 31′ 15″)
3. Jonathan Powell's performance - Part Two (2h 54′ 07″).

N.B. Due to a minor technical glitch 2.5 hours into the performance, a few bars of music are missing (between the two sections of the performance presented here). Except for this (and an unfortunate microphone issue during the pre-concert talk), it is one of the most remarkable live-streamed events (certainly the longest, clocking in at 6 hours) the JdP has hosted. Please subscribe to access all future content from Jonathan Powell and other artists!