Piano Weekend 1: Ian Pace – Hommage to David Tudor

Friday, 3 March 2017 - 7:30pm
Pre-Concert Talk at 6:45pm
Gallery £15, Stalls £12, Students £12/£5, LIVESTREAM £5 (25% single weekend discount or 40% double weekend discount)

Watch the Pre-Concert Talk and Concert again here.

Works by Boulez, Cage, Feldman, Evangelisti & Wolpe. Ian Pace brings together five composers who were central to the repertoire of the remarkable American pianist (and composer) David Tudor, and two of the most pioneering of post-war piano works in Boulez’s second sonata and Cage’s Music of Changes.


Franco Evangelisti - Proiezioni sonore
Morton Feldman - Extensions 3
Stefan Wolpe - Passacaglia
Pierre Boulez - Deuxième Sonate pour piano
John Cage - Music of Changes


Visitors who attend both concerts for Piano Weekend 1 will receive a 25% discount on tickets. More information below:

Piano Weekend 1: Nicolas Hodges Saturday 4 March at 7:30pm
The work of Salvatore Sciarrino holds a unique position in the world of contemporary classical music through its powerful communicative ability, its remarkable timbral refinement and the way it engages parameters such as silence and space...

Visitors who attend all four of our Piano Weekend concerts will receive a 40% discount on tickets:

Piano Weekend 2: Maki Sekiya Friday 12 May at 7:30pm
The brilliant Japanese pianist, Maki Sekiya, presents here a recital that juxtaposes the two piano sonatas of Shostakovich with Russian contemporary pieces that reflect the influence of minimalism and electronica...

Piano Weekend 2: Jonathan Powell Saturday 13 May at 3:30pm
Opus Clavicembalisticum is perhaps Sorabji’s best known work, even if more talked about than played until the 1980s (this will only be the sixteenth public performance of it)...

Piano Weekend 1 - Single Weekend Ticket = £22.50 gallery / £18.00 stalls / £7.50 concession
Piano Weekend 2 - Single Weekend Ticket = £22.50 gallery / £18.00 stalls / £7.50 concession
Both Piano Weekends - Double Weekend Ticket = £36.00 gallery / £28.80 stalls / £12.00 concession

Ian Pace piano